Sunday’s final round of the PGA Championship was marred by controversy when Dustin Johnson took a 2 stroke Penalty late in his final round when he touched his ball while in a bunker.
Each player and caddy were given a rule book and told that everything in play will be considered a bunker and should be played like they were hitting from a bunker.
This mistake cost him more than a Major Championship, but the sum of $540,000. His Caddy which should be advising him of the rule book at each shot, cost himself $54,000 when he did not state the rule before Mr. Johnson touched the ball.
The outcome of this match teaches us that golf always has and always will be a sport that governs its self. Honor and integrity will always be a vital part of this game. This teaches athletes, parents, and children that mistakes can come with huge costs. Dustin will forever be remembered as the guy who came so close, but the lesson learned will teach more about how integrity is how games should be played.